Questions on Writing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Questions on Writing

Ok...so I've been reading your posts on self publishing and what the end goal should be for writing. Please correct me if I'm not getting it -

1. Write a book and get it published.

2. Get that book sold to someone (preferably someone famous) and get in made into a movie.

This is the thing that has been nagging at me:

How do I write something that I know is good enough to publish. I don't want to even submit anything if it's crap. And even if I did want to submit my work, where would I even start?

If the end game is to get it picked up as movie, do I need to change what I write with that in mind? And how does that work with the "creative process?"

P.S. I'm asking these questions because I am a closet writer. I enjoy it immensely and have been told by college professors that I have talent. Whether this is actually true or not is anyone's guess. I also have a Children's Book in the works that is probably not going to get picked up by anyone - it's a Hellenismos Primer.
    Last edited by Twinkle; March 21st, 2010, 10:59 PM.
    "The very powerful and the very stupid have one thing in common:
    instead of altering their views to fit the facts, they alter the facts to fit their views,
    which can be very uncomfortable if you happen to be one of the facts that need altering."

Originally posted by Twinkle View Post
    Ok...so I've been reading your posts on self publishing and what the end goal should be for writing. Please correct me if I'm not getting it -

1. Write a book and get it published.
    Should be the goal of any writer.

2. Get that book sold to someone (preferably someone famous) and get in made into a movie.
    Should be the goal of any writer that wants to make a lot of money! :D

This is the thing that has been nagging at me:

How do I write something that I know is good enough to publish. I don't want to even submit anything if it's crap.