Making Yule Ornaments

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Making Yule Ornaments

It's official. I can't fit my full-size tree (and its full-size collection of ornaments) in my tiny living room. Not and still have room to sit down. I will have to get a smaller tree that I can stand on the end table in the corner, temporarily sacrificing my reading lamp. Thus, I will also have to get some smaller ornaments. I've been using the same old ornaments for the past twenty years; time for something new anyway.

So off to the crafts store I went.

I now have: 24 little straw brooms. 13 grapevine wreaths, about 3" across. A bag of cinnamon sticks about 3" long. A bag of pine cones. A bag of mixed nuts. 10 picks with small fruits (apples, pears and cherries) encrusted with sparkles. Plus an assortment of narrow holiday ribbons, tiny holly leaf garland, metallic gold embroidery thread, spray on glitter, and a hot glue gun.

Out of this assembly there will eventually emerge: Sparkly fruits removed from the picks. Sparkly nuts. Sparkly pinecones. Sparkly sunwheels made with grapevine wreaths and cinnamon-stick crosses. Sparkly brooms with red, white and green ribbons. Maybe some God's Eyes made with cinnamon sticks and ribbons. Maybe some sparkly pentagrams made with cinnamon sticks. Everything on gold cord loops with little bits of holly at the tops of each item to hide the place where the cords are attached.

These are things I have been thinking about making for years. Now I have a reason and the time to do it! Wa hoo!

Quite possibly I will go back to the store to get more stuff to make sets of ornaments for everyone in my coven (put in cute little holiday baskets I saw at the drugstore today).
    Blessed be!

Demeter

Demeter's First Rule: Thou Shalt Not Check Thy Brain At The Door.
    Demeter's Second Rule: Thou Shalt THINK! (kudos to Orson Scott Card)