No announcement yet.

Is the Red-Tailed Hawk my totem animal?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is the Red-Tailed Hawk my totem animal?

(Cross-posted from my blog)

I’m getting comfortable enough with this blog that I feel I should share a little bit with you.

As a person who is of Native American descent, I have a deep reverence for the symbolism of animals and other creatures. Ever since I was a little beansprout I’ve encountered these beautiful animals. For some crazy reason I’ve always been drawn to the red-tailed hawk. Even to this day I can’t explain it. It’s just there.

I’ll start with telling you the story of me and the resident Red Tail at one of the airports I fly out of. Those of you who have browsed the “About Me” page know that I’m a pilot and have been for a little more than seven years. At every single one of those airports there is a resident hawk that showed up at the same time I did.

Let me tell you a story of Hawk #1. Hawk #1 was based at the second airport I took flying lessons at (about four years ago). The old guys who hung around there said “We’ve never seen him before until you showed up, and he only comes out when you’re around.” I didn’t believe them even though I spotted the hawk a few times while I was on the ground. However, one day I was flying with a friend when he looked toward the trees and exclaimed “DUCK!” I turned and saw a huge hawk swoop at my head and his talon ran through my hair no differently than if a person had done it. He clearly wasn’t attacking me for prey. My friend said he had never seen anything like it and was absolutely amazed that such a fearless creature would come that close to a person. The hawk has remained at the airport ever since and comes out once in a blue moon.