Precision in Astrology

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Precision in Astrology

I have heard varied arguments, especially from scientific viewpoints, about how unaccurate astrology must be- we are using the same system from thousands of years ago, and the way we see the sky has changed much since then!

This article looks at this concept, and really explains it well!

http://www.astro.com/astrology/in_praezession_e.htm

One of the most common arguments used against astrology is that the statements astrologers make have long become obsolete. Astrology claims that someone born on 30th March has the sun at 10° Aries, whereas in reality on 30th March the sun is clearly in the fixed star constellation of Pisces.
    It goes on to discuss and correct this idea. It's a really good read, though short. I'm a beginner, and it answered a few questions of mine.

Yes indeed! The argument that scientists sometimes use against astrology - that the zodiac signs no longer match the stars, and therefore we get it all wrong - is about the most stupid argument imaginable.

In the same way that we can easily measure our latitude north or south of the equator on Earth (London is 52 degrees north of the equator, for instance), we have to have a fairly arbitrary starting point for measure how far east or west we are - New York is 74 degrees west, for instance, but west of what? By international agreement, we use Greenwich, London as our "starting point". This is by reason of historical accident - Britain was the major seafaring nation in the days when the meridian was agreed, so Britain's capital became the starting point. If we were doing this today, it would probably be Washington or New York instead.