Devil card in deck

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Devil card in deck

I'm new to tarot reading, and am a little confused on having a devil card in my deck. I don't believe that a supremely evil enity exists, so having one in my deack throws me off a bit. Should I just take it out and toss it? Or does this card have a deeper meaning than just the Devil? Thanks!*S*
    I am greatful for the day, the sun, and life, but can't Mr. Right hurry up and get here?
    You hear that, Mr. Billy Boyd?

Hmmm.... I usually see the Devil as being too materialistic and being stuck in a rut.

Here's what Joan Bunning has to say on the Devil:

http://www.learntarot.com/maj15.htm

Comment

I relate this card to Hades, as in the story about Persephone spending 6 months underground and 6 months above. In my deck, this card is called the Underworld. I don't believe in the devil either, so I like the visual better of Hades.

FaeRain
      Whatever you can do or dream you can, begin it.
      Boldness has genius, power and magic in it.
      Begin it now.
      Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (1749-1832)

Comment

I copied this definition off of a website that I frequent:

The Devil card symbolizes letting those parts of yourself that have been repressed or shamed out of the closet... this card is reminding you to face your shadow stuff... We are conditioned to mistrust passionate desires and basic instincts, because we are afraid that we might go too far, slipping into hedonism or addiction... we need to outgrow fearful inhibitions placed upon our personalities and self-expression. In every generation there have been those who push these limits. They may have been demonized in their time, but later generations understood the honesty, courage and healing power of their daring. (http://www.tarot-cards-online.com/ww...tarot_card.htm)

Also check: http://www.geocities.com/athens/acro...2/tarot/15.htm

Comment