thinking about a deck

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• thinking about a deck

ok, im new to wicca, and not v. experienced or skilled, so i was wondering what sort of tarot deck i should get???? im planning on getting one this or next weekend, but do all decks come with an explination as to what cards mean what? i mean, i have a gereral idea about the major arcana, but not of the smaller ones... stuff like the son of pentacles, the three of cups, etc.... and will i get better in time?
    Thanx!
    Hannah

I would recommend one of the decks based on the Rider-Waite deck or the Rider-Waite deck itself. I think it is a very sound format for a new user and is, I believe, a very good place to begin.

Blue :cool:
    "Life should not be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming, "WOW! What a ride!"
    How we deal with death and loss is just as important as how we deal with life and success.
    BlueCat's Den

Comment

I started with a Rider-Waite, it might not be as pretty as many other decks but it's got the most basic symbolism which makes it easier to move on to the more elaborate ones because most decks in one way or another is based on the Rider-Waite, and more importantly it's usually the cheapest. Some decks come with a book or booklet with explanations for each card and ways of laying the cards etc written for that particular deck. If the deck you purchase doesn't come with a book, I recommend you buy a general Tarot book separately. I have been doing tarot readings for 15 years and I still use the book to peek in when I need to. A deck has 78 cards, it's more or less impossible to memorize the meaning of each card, and even though you should mainly go on your own intuition, it helps to have some keywords at hand.