Tarot Book Recommendations?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tarot Book Recommendations?

So I've got a couple decks, but only one book on actually doing tarot. I happen to have Tarot for the Green Witch by Ann Moura, but I'm looking for another tarot book too.

So...what would all you long time and new time tarot folks recommend? I'm a beginner, but I'm curious about intermediate and advanced recommendations also. Oh, and please tell why you recommend what you recommend!

Thankyou!
    -Arinya

if you're only interested in reading, then i think they're all pretty much the same... archetypal keyword blah blah blah...

but if you want to read something that might challenge your perceptions of what tarot can be, then i recommend 'Tarot; History, Mystery and Lore' by Cynthia Giles.
    some people are like slinkies -
    not good for anything, but they bring a smile to your face when they are pushed downs the stairs.

True enlightenment comes from discovering principles which challenge your spiritual view, not from inventing principles to confirm it.

Comment

I can't think of one particular book because a few come to mind..BUT i can definitely recommend which one NOt to get..." Tarot made easy by Nancy Garen"..my own experience with this book was not so good. Leanring from this book would make it a little harder to read all the cards together in a spread. I think in the begining if you are learning your way from books, it's always good to combine a few books...many books describe the meaning of cards differently...but it's nice to be able to look and "get a feel" for all the different meanings until you become "in tune" with the cards and develop your own sense of what they represent and feel to you. Two books that i liked were Tarot: Plain and simple by Anthony Louis" and "The Pictorial Guide to the Tarot by A.E Waide" now if you are using the Rider deck..this one would be helpful with understanding the pictures.

Karmen

Comment